Tags

, , , ,

51WlTy2Db+LWith no homework in sight for three months, summer break affords great time for much leisurely reading by children, teens, and young adults. However, getting your teenage boys to read with excitement and consistency can be a challenge. Therefore, I am grateful when I run across a series that can hold the attention of my sons. Recently I found the “Code of Silence” series by Tim Shoemaker. (I think of The Three Investigators series when perusing the books.)

412xNOa5ojL

 

Although some of the reviews of the series suggest that readers might be turned off by the sanitized approach of the writing, I disagree. I think that the adult vileness and licentiousness that has come to characterize teen reading is unnecessary to write a good story. I am grateful to Shoemaker for providing good writing for teens while allowing them to retain a sense of innocence and mystery toward adult themes.