Tags

, , ,

Question 1. What is thy only comfort in life and death?

Answer: That I with body and soul, both in life and death, am not my own, but belong unto my faithful Savior Jesus Christ; who, with his precious blood, has fully satisfied for all my sins, and delivered me from all the power of the devil; and so preserves me that without the will of my heavenly Father, not a hair can fall from my head; yea, that all things must be subservient to my salvation, and therefore, by his Holy Spirit, He also assures me of eternal life, and makes me sincerely willing and ready, henceforth, to live unto him. (Heidelberg Catechism, 1563)

Douglas Wilson on Calvin’s high esteem of the Word of God and its authority:

“What is obvious to us has been obvious to many other observers as well. David Steinmetz says, ‘While Calvin is only too eager to recommend the boundless power of God as a comfort for believers, he does not want the godly to contemplate that power except through the spectacles of Scripture. To investigate the will of God apart fro the revealed will of God in the Bible is to lose oneself in a labyrinth of vain speculation.’ Who would dare say that Calvin had low views of God’s greatness and sovereignty? At the same time, for Calvin it was never naked philosophical sovereignty. Our only comfort in life and death is not a syllogism. God reveals himself in creation, in the Scriptures, and ultimately in the incarnation.” (Douglas Wilson, “The Sacred Script in the Theater of God: Calvin, the Bible, and the Western World’” in With Calvin in the Theater of God: The Glory of Christ and Everyday Life [Wheaton: Crossway, 2010]: 84, emphasis mine.)