Tags

 pliosaurus

“Therefore I despise myself, and repent in dust and ashes” (Job 42:6).

The New York Times Science page reported of the findings of “Preditor X,” mentioning also a special to appear on the History Channel. Reading the report and seeing the HC video clip reminded me of how small I am before the Creator. For, if this “Preditor X” is not Levianthan – and I am not saying it is – than woe to him who questions the sovereign goodness of the one who can stick a hook in the nose of Leviathan–that unknown creature even greater than Preditor X. Job is right: we all should bow in dust and ashes.

I also am reminded of the great chapter in, The Pleasures of God: Meditations on God’s Delight in Being God, on “The Pleasure of God in His Creation.”  About 18 years ago the illustration on the revelation of God in the creation from an article in Ranger Rick started to open my eyes to new wonders about our God. I have clipped a portion of the sermon-printed version from desiringgod.org and pasted in below. May we all read and marvel at the works of the Almighty!

It seems to me that creation praises God by simply being what it was created to be in all its incredible variety. And since most of the creation is beyond the awareness of mankind (in the reaches of space, and in the heights of mountains and at the bottom of the sea), it wasn’t created merely to serve purposes that have to do with us. It was created for the enjoyment of God.

Ranger Rick arrives in our house. I open it and read about the European water spider that lives at the bottom of a lake, but breathes air. It does a somersault on the surface of the water and catches a bubble of air, and holds it over the breathing holes in the middle of its body while it swims to the bottom of the lake and spins a silk web among the seaweed. Then it goes up and brings down bubble after bubble until a little balloon of air is formed where it can live and eat and mate.

I sit there with my mouth open and I think God smiles and says, “Yes, John, and I have been enjoying that little piece of art for 10,000 years before anybody on earth knew it existed. And if you only knew how many millions of other wonders there are beyond your sight that I behold with gladness everyday!”

Right here in our text, Psalm 104:25-26 it says,

Yonder is the sea, great and wide, which teems with things innumerable, living things both small and great. There go the ships, and Leviathan which thou didst form to sport in it.

Why did God create great sea monsters? Just to play, to frolic, in the ocean where no man can see but only God. The teeming ocean declares the glory of God, and praises him a hundred miles from any human eye. That’s the second statement about why God rejoices in his works.

See also this National Geographic post.