Newsweek Cover Story on Obama Finding His Faith

The July 21 edition of Newsweek features a cover story on the faith of Senator Barak Obama. This is a clip:

The story of Obama’s religious journey is a uniquely American tale. It’s one of a seeker, an intellectually curious young man trying to cobble together a religious identity out of myriad influences. Always drawn to life’s Big Questions, Obama embarked on a spiritual quest in which he tried to reconcile his rational side with his yearning for transcendence. He found Christ—but that hasn’t stopped him from asking questions. “I’m on my own faith journey and I’m searching,” he says. “I leave open the possibility that I’m entirely wrong.”

No, this is not the Christian once-delivered-faith in the abolute Truth. This is not Christian faith at all. Read the article here.

2 responses to “Newsweek Cover Story on Obama Finding His Faith

  1. I walked away thinking the man was a peligian syncretist.

  2. Man, I think B. Obama is a universalist. Although the quote you raised doesn’t definitively close out Mr. Obama from the kingdom, if you read later in the document there are more “damning” statements. I think that as followers of Christ we are on a journey. God is challenging us through his Word and we are critically examining its truth in light of the world which we live in. “I leave open the possibility…” does not automatically disqualify him either. He could be leaving himself open that he is wrong on a political or theological issue of a 2nd or 3rd order. You can not necessarily come to the conclusion that he is questioning placing his faith in the saving work of Jesus Christ.

    Here are the more “damning” statements from the article, in my own opinion,

    “It is a precept of my Christian faith that my redemption comes through Christ, but I am also a big believer in the Golden Rule, which I think is an essential pillar not only of my faith but of my values and my ideals and my experience here on Earth. I’ve said this before, and I know this raises questions in the minds of some evangelicals. I do not believe that my mother, who never formally embraced Christianity as far as I know … I do not believe she went to hell.”

Leave a Reply

