A Man from Issachar Celebrates with RBA

  While at the fireworks show on the National Mall last evening, I was able to spend some time with Michael Mewborn, Aubrey Mewborn and Xavier Pickett of Reformed Blacks of America. We tossed around some ideas about blogging back and forth on a Reformed look at African American hair styles and goatees and what they say about African American self-identification – somewhere between Anna Mae Bullock (a.k.a. Tina Turner) and Angela Davis – the Gospel and living as minorities in a dominant culture. However, we agreed that such a blog discussion would turn into hours of banter. So we will just wear our goatees and allow women to do what they wish with their hair. (I voiced my dissent with the Afro-Susan Powter look. But I have a very restrictive interpretation of I Corinthians 11.) I will try to keep in mind this resolution from Clyde Kilby (found in The Pleasures of God):

I shall not demean my own uniqueness by envy of others. I shall stop boring into myself to discover what psychological or social categories I might belong to. Mostly I shall simply forget about myself and do my work.

 

The Angela Davis and Malcolm X photos are for Xavier, as well as the pix of that other thing he uses. As far as yesterday’s discussion in concerned, a picture is worth a thousand words.

 

 

    

One response to “A Man from Issachar Celebrates with RBA

  1. It would appear that the sane one in the group would be Aubrey. Hopefully you guys had a good time. Good to see you all hanging out and to see Mike with the lil’ man on his shoulders. Great shot! For what it’s worth, keep the goatees and drop the afros :-).

Leave a Reply

