SCOTUS on Race and Schools

I will make this one short. I anticipate questions from friends and church members regarding my apparent silence on the SCOTUS decision on schools and race. It is an apparent silence, for my thoughts can be discerned from my last post. However, I will be more explicit: I think 5 of 9 of the most intelligent people on the planet are as naive about social stratification as are the contenders for the Democratic nomination for the President of the United States, (see the last post). If one of the original lawsuits was brought to the courts on the basis that some (White) parents sued the school system because the system’s policy on school choice prevented a (White) child from having the freedom to chose a certain school because the racial make-up of the schools would become disproportionately African American, then it would seem that the result of winning such a suit would mean that (White) parents would be able to heavily populate any one school to the near exclusion of African Americans, simply based on “choice.” This is a passive version of “separate but equal” schooling. (Yes, you have to read between all of my, the lawsuit’s and SCOTUS’ lines to come to a conclusion like this.) However, if the courts continue to allow socio-economic factors to be considered in school populations, then racial diversity and, more importantly, parity in educational instruction and opportunity can be achieved. Unfortunately, my behind-the-veil life always tempers my hope when conservative justices are appointed to the bench for I know that few conservative justices are both pro-life and sensitive on race issues. (I have less hope for justice when liberal justices are appointed.) I am thankful for many of my (White) brothers who are both unashamedly pro-life and boldly sensitive on race matters and I love them; I believe we would have a great time sitting in the same classroom together. We could work together for the right choice on life and education. This is part of the glory of the Cross.

One response to “SCOTUS on Race and Schools

  1. Eric,

    I’m just now discovering your blog. I appreciate your balanced perspective on these issues. Your take on the Supreme Court decision on school integration is dead on. I’m betting there are a lot of black evangelicals out there (like myself) who resonate with your words. I also appreciated your earlier post on race, faith, and politics. Check out my post about that one here: http://edwardg.wordpress.com/2007/06/30/a-balanced-manifesto-on-race-faith-and-politics/.

    Peace,
    Ed Gilbreath

Leave a Reply

